Home GuitarPCB Forum GuitarPCB Build Support PURP has no sound when turned on.

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Angry Badger
    Participant

I’m new to building. Just did a pumped up rangemaster kit. Bypass works. LED turns on when engaged but pedal has no sound when turned on. I get voltage to and from the board and switch. I was wondering if someone could help.

Billy

Although its fairly difficult to see it looks like your diode D1 is the wrong way around the cathode striped side should go the other way around

Easy enough to confirm check what voltage you get on pin 8 of IC1 I’d suspect little to nothing

What may be happening is with the diode the wrong way around power will conduct through it straight to ground rather than into the circuit via IC1

Barry
    Keymaster

D1 is in the correct orientation for v4 of the board.

I am looking hard at some of the solder pads that seem open. You may want to reflow your solder joints.

For example:

Also remove the wire from the inside of the Jack so your plug is not going to hit it when inserted.

Also two different Red Wires may be damaged depending on how many strands?

Angry Badger
    Participant
    1. How are the pins numbered? Also I put the gray line of the diode on the white striped side of the PCB if that helps you. I can take a better picture. How much voltage should I get and where am I measuring across? Is that from the pin to the ground or just to the other side of the diode?
    Angry Badger
    Participant