Home Forums GuitarPCB Build Support Tube Screaming Ultra noise

• This topic has 11 replies, 5 voices, and was last updated 1 week ago by Billy.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Leif Winberg
    Participant

Hi guys,

Complete novice here.

I have just completed the Tube Screaming Ultra and it sounds pretty cool. Except that It is quite noisy. Any ideas?

Also, the level and tone pots don’t really do much until the very end of the dial turn.

Cheers,

Leif.

Barry
    Keymaster

We will need several clear well lit photos of the front of the board, back of the board and off-board wiring to help.

Also was this a kit?

Cybercow

Beside the pictures, as Barry pointed out, did you make ANY parts substitutions?

Leif Winberg
    Participant

Leif Winberg
    Participant

Leif Winberg
    Participant

Leif Winberg
    Participant

Thanks for getting back to me.

Are these photos of any use? What is it you are trying to see here?

I got the Tube Screaming Ultra kit from Pedal Parts Australia. I did not use any parts outside the instructions.

Cheers,

Leif.

Barry
    Keymaster

Hi, It is just a lot better to have photos than to try imagining any number of scenarios.

Since something is not right we have to find out what it is.

Today is extraordinarily busy for me so I don’t have time now to look this over thoroughly.

As part of normal troubleshooting here is what I would do:

• Test the pedal by itself with battery power (solder battery strap to 2.1mm jack) batteries cannot introduce noise.
    • Re-flow solder joints on and off-board. Make sure you have firm connections (especially regarding ground)
    • Be careful re-flowing at transistors and IC chips since sockets were not used. (heat sensitive)
    • Make sure wire strands or solder lugs at potentiometers are not shorting to enclosure.

Maybe someone else can look this over to see anything important as I have a ton of sale orders to pack.

Stu
    Participant