Home Forums GuitarPCB Build Support Too much gain using Buff N Blend?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    terry
    Participant

I completed two pedals, one multi-circuit pedal [Rat, EQ blender, Buff N Blend] and another HM-2 w/ Buff N Blend. With both pedals, I am experiencing an excessive amount of gain, so much that if either the level or gain pot is past the 3 o’clock position a nasty squeal is present. I tested all circuits [except BNB] before installation, and all functioned properly. Everything functions as expected minus the squeal. As I socketed the transistor [MPF102], is it possible I need to use an alternative transistor? Thank you for any help! -Terry.

Barry
    Keymaster

What is the voltage on the Drain of Q1?

terry
    Participant

If I am testing this correctly… 0.047 [DMM set to 2K ohm. Red on drain, black on source]. I am still new to this. Thank you for your time!

Billy

Terry set your meter to 20V DC place your black probe on ground and red probe to the drain pin on the left nearest to the 3PDT

terry
    Participant

I get 9.22V

Barry
    Keymaster

Can you give the voltage now of all 3 pins.

D:
    S:
    G:

terry
    Participant

D: 9.22

S: 4.98

G: 3.08

wilkie1

You are experiencing oscillation caused by overloading a device.  Can you describe how you have the boards wired together?  I would normally expect to see a sequence like this: