Home Forums General Tone Tweq as bass preamp (answered)

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Ethan 5 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Jamye
    Participant

I have built several pedals from scratch and with GuitarPCB boards (love em) and even hacked a few to my own liking, but all in all, I am still a noob and wanted to ask the pros.

I am building a 5 string bass and want to try to build the pre-amp myself. I want to be simple and really not alter the tone of the bass much if at all. (I am typically a passive guy anyway.) I tried several designs and then shelved the idea opting to just buy an aftermarket preamp. As I was looking at adding a Tone Tweq to some older pedal designs to make them awesome, I started to ponder the idea of a Tone Tweq as the EQ portion of an on-board bass pre or the entire pre itself. I am not sure it could be used stand alone in this manner and have the same effect as a full preamp. Although, it my limited knowledge is making me think it could. I am just trying to figure out the following looking on this site and others for reference. Would definitely appreciate any input, thoughts or even different ideas with other boards. Thanks in advance.

1. Is the Tone Tweq enough by itself to simply add a volume and a blend pot off-board to be the full preamp?
      I was thinking of taking the Emexar built as the MicroAmp and then combining with theTone Tweq for the full build, but can’t decide if I really need the Exemar-MicroAmp in this onboard preamp application. I am not looking for dirt, just strong clean signal with EQ boost and cut options.
    2. What are some good options for wiring it so a push pull pot could switch between active/passive?