Home Forums Show Off Your Build Sunn-T build

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Afternoon all,

Having lurked on here for a little while I have just bitten the bullet and bought a Sunn-T kit from Musikding. There were a couple of issues with missing items, but that was very quickly resolved.

This is my first build, but I’m pretty handy with a soldering iron and due to my line of work I have meters etc., so no issues there. My only problems on the first test was the usual backwards wiring of the channel switch and that I couldn’t bias Q1 below 5.75v. The switch was an easy fix and the biasing was resolved by swapping Q1 with Q4. All are now biased at 5.5v having tested at 4.5 and 5.0v and liking this the best.

I’m running the pedal into the loop return on my Marshall DSL20H which I bought last year but was not too happy with, where this pedal has made what was an average amp truly epic (so far)! The amp has a pair of TAD EL34s and now sounds huge, even through a 1×12 cab with V30! It sustains for ever, and sounds great when kicked with my Rat clone (the RATTACK). The fuzz and Muff sound great too, but it also sounds good by itself. I’m a very happy man!

In the photo below I’m ABing into the loop and also the front of the amp as a test as you can switch out the loop, but the plan is to ABY between the Sunn-T into the Marshall loop and into the front of my Orange TH30 (you can probably guess the type of music my band plays….).

The LED works backwards (green=off, red=on) but to be honest that seems normal to me. Also, I made a water-slide decal for it but the fitting didn’t quite go to plan, so I’m currently awaiting delivery of some self-adhesive inkjet vinyl and I’ll give that a try. But, in the meantime….

wilkie1