Home Forums GuitarPCB Build Support PUTB v2.b. Help (Solved)

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Dustin
    Participant

Hi! This is my first post so I hope I get everything right. My apologies if I miss something. Please let me know if I do.

Ok, I’ve successfully built a bunch of pedals, most of which I’ve had to problem solve, but with this on I’m stuck.  I am still a noob, but starting to understand what I don’t understand… which is a lot.

It’s the PUTB v.2b. First off is there a difference between it and the V2.1?

Problem:  No sound.  Sometime there is a high pitch squeal when I reconnect the battery. There are also high pitch squeals when I touch the DMM to Two and Three on the IC.

I have reflowed the solder.

Im using a Russian MN20a  hfe are between 100- 120  ( I realize there are low for the board, but I’m waiting on some high gain ones to arrive…)

1.  C -6.0 B. 2.03 E. 0

2.  C  -1.65  B. -2.02. E. 0

3.  C. -6.45 B. -1.38 E. 0

IC max1044

1. 6.58
    2. 3.29
    3. 0
    4. 3.26
    5. 6.75
    6. 2.51
    7. 6.59
    8. 6.59

Any help anyone can offer would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance

cheers

Dustin

Dustin
    Participant

Ohh, sorry the last image has different transistors then the MN20A… (and yes, there NPN to boot).

Billy

Your voltages look too low If it’s a battery only you’re using try a fresh one

Pin 8’s your supply voltage should be around 9v with pin 5 your V out – 9v

The readings you’re getting 6.59v going in are more or less a flat battery

Oscillation can be caused by many things one of which is incorrect voltages so hopefully it’s just a dud battery so try a fresh one first

I’ll move your post over to the build support forum

Dustin
    Participant

Thanks Billy, I appreciate it.

update,  switched battery the V came up on T1 (T2&3 were actually lower), yet no sound.  Swapped out transitions, no sound.