Home Forums GuitarPCB Build Support opamp muff mids mod (answered)

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

hi,

i just built an opamp muff and installed the tone stack bypass and am quite satisfied with the sound in tone bypass. but i would also like to try modifying the tone stack some for more mids or perhaps even a mid control. i found tons of info on modifying a bmp tone stack but nothing on the opamp tone stack which looks a bit different. i’ve been messing around with the C7 and C9 values and put in a 25k pot in place of R12, this has been yielding some results. but since i’m a newbie and don’t really know much about circuits i thought i’d ask here if i’m in the right ballpark changing these values or if there are other capacitors and or resistors i should be messing with.

here’s the link to the build which has the schematic https://guitarpcb.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/BD_BMP-OP-AMP-v2.pdf

thanks, rick

Barry
    Keymaster

The only way to boost any frequency is with an active tone control. Passive tone controls only cut frequency. In other words you would have to cut Bass and Highs to give the apparent boost in Mids.
    A better solution is to use an active baxandall circuit like our Tone TwEQ which will allow you to boost or cut frequency.

Anonymous
    Inactive

hi barry,

thanx for the response. i know about the tone tweq but it’s too big to fit in my build. i’m not necessarily looking to boost the mids, i just want flatter mids / less scoop. there are many mentions of mods for the classic bmp tone stack like this one here https://www.coda-effects.com/p/big-muff-tonestack-dealing-with-mids.html