Home Forums GuitarPCB Build Support Mini-Me Chorus: No sound at all

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Herr_Samsa
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I am new to the whole DIY game and still learning a lot about electronics in general and trying to improve my soldering skills. So I thought I give the mini me a shot. I purchased a kit of the “old” board (not the 2020 version) via musikding.de, read the basic introductions and assembly instructions on this board and went for it. For the build I used this guide.

When I was finished I was really excited to see that the LED was instantly working as promised – I didn’t doubt the kit but my skills. But unfortunately that was all that worked. Neither clean (bypass) nor chorus worked. So I started double checking every step I made and connection I created. Up until now I have tested all the reistors and capacitors with a multimeter and the reults check out. So I am a little bit out of ideas about what I did wrong and/or what part I might have botched. Checking this section of the board didn’t help much either. I stumbled across Joeri’s recent thread  but the problem there seemed to be something different.

Here are some pictures of the current status of the project. For the sake of confusion reduction I have removed the LED again from D3 on the board before taking the pictures. Please forgive my cluelessness; I am sure that whatever mistake I have made must be something obvious to you guys. Any help is much appreciated!

Cybercow

Check the wiring of the “In” and “Out” pads of the PCB. From what I can make of the photos, they appear to be reversed on both sides. (But I can’t see them clearly, so I’m guessing.) The blue wires at the “In” & “Out” pads on the PCB need to be connected to the pad marked with a “T”.

Do you have any voltage readings for the ICs to compare with those listed in the build docs?

Herr_Samsa
    Participant

Dear Cybercow,