Home Forums GuitarPCB Build Support Mastodon Fuzz not working as expected

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    est
    Participant

Hello everyone,

first of all this is my first guitar pedal build and I’m new to soldering/desoldering so some parts are really awful and may need some enhancement but for this first build I’m first trying to make this work, even if not perfectly.

My first problem is when not mounted in the enclosure:

• in bypass mode: the signal goes to output in ‘clean’ but volume pot has an effect -> I need to set it to minimal to have maximum volume. I find it weird, I thought bypass was not influenced by anything. I verified my circuit and can’t find what’s wrong
    • once activated: it seems (I still need to verify each pot) to work as expected but with ‘cracks’
    • activated but with no signal: the pedal generates quite a bit of noise

If I mount in the enclosure the 3PDT and OUT jack, it still works as not mounted. Once I mount the IN jack the behaviour change to:

• bypass mode works as expected, the volume pot has no effect
    • no sound at all when effect activated.

Some photos (not sure they can help):

Any help would be appreciated.

Cybercow

Can we also see a good, clear, close-up photo of the component side of the PCB? Are the transistors socketed – or soldered directly to the PCB?

Also, double-check the polarity of the electrolytic (tantalum) caps, make sure the In and Out connections on the main PCB are connected correctly – one of the most common mistakes is connecting the “T” point to ground.

And finally – double-check the wiring against the wiring guide in the build document.

est
    Participant

Some photos of the component side

Transistors are soldered directly on the board.

The tantalum capacitors are the 47uF ones, C3 and C4. I verified their polarity are good: the leg marked + on the cap in connected to the + socket.