Home Forums GuitarPCB Build Support HELP! Sonic Tonic build

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Bryan Nash
    Participant

I just want to start off by saying thank you for your patience. I am brand new to DIY pedals, I am a novice when it comes to small electronics, but my background is in gas measurement so I do have an understanding of electrical theory. I recently purchased the sonic tonic pedal.  I put it all together and plugged in a 9v battery.  I got no signal and the LED did not light up so obviously I’ve done something wrong.  I think it’s prudent to also mention that I had some components left over so that could be it (the transistor, 2 resistors, a socket, and a 2.2 capacitor).If your first inclination is to tell me I got in over my head, I would agree with you however, you gotta start somewhere!  Any help PLEASE!!!!!

Billy

You’ve got IC2 in the wrong way round Bryan

Some ICs have either a notch or a dot indicating pin 1 and some have both when they have both the notch is pin 1

Your IC1 TL072 is correct

Hopefully IC2 TL074 has not been damaged

R1 1K resistor and D1 1N4001 diode need to be installed also

Bryan Nash
    Participant

Billy!

thank you so much brother I’ll give that a try now and repost. If I did damage I’ll purchase a new one.

Billy

All your resistor values look correct can’t fully see R18,19,20 and 21 but from what I can see they look correct and orientation aside from IC2 obviously, looks correct.

It’s difficult to trace your wires in some places because you’re using the same colours a lot as far as I can make out you’ve got the 3PDT grounded and powered those 2 red wires bottom left so your LED should light up

Anyway hopefully it’ll fire right up once you turn the IC around

Meant to say you’d posted it in the wrong forum so I moved it over you’d put it in the ‘how to use the forum’ part, that’s perhaps why it took so long to get people looking

Bryan Nash
    Participant

Billy