Home Forums General DIY Pedal Discussion FYI: Just Read Small Bear is Closing

Tagged: 

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Big O
    Participant

Found this out on the BYOC forum.  Doesn’t appear to be a rumor.  Really will be losing a major source of parts for us pedal builders.

Aviator
    Participant

That’s terrible news.  I am just getting started at pedal building and place fairly large an order with them a few days ago. I was really looking forward to doing more business with them.

Barry
    Keymaster

I would not panic. Steve is retiring after 20 years of running a successful business.

Key word successful.

If you do not think somebody is taking that over in full stride then I would think again. Everybody loves drama.

If you think about it why would anyone give up a fully stocked, successful business you ran for 20 years and had a huge customer base. Well you wouldn’t because that is a cash cow and would fund your retirement.

Big O
    Participant

On the BYOC board one of the moderators stated that Steve Daniels, apparently the man responsible for Small Bear, called him and told him he is retiring.  Hopefully he will sell his business, but there is no word yet that anyone is taking over the business.

By the way, it is the BYOC board that brought me to GuitarPCB.  That board is another good source of information for pedal building in addition to the forum here, which is also excellent and chock full of information.

I hope you are right Barry, and someone takes over the business.  If they do, though, prices could be going up.

Barry
    Keymaster

Well I saw a post on Instagram from Steve and it appears he is going to stay open till they sell out of everything and then close.