Home Forums GuitarPCB Build Support D’lay pedal no sound (solved)

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Colin Blakely
    Participant

Hi all,
    I’ve built about 10 pedals to my endless enjoyment and have always managed to complete them without incident. As a result, I’m a newbie to troubleshooting, so bear with me. I recently finished a D’lay pedal, and no sound is passing through when the pedal is engaged. I can trace the audio path back to the output for IC1 and still get signal though the output, but when I send signal through pin 2 it starts to get wonky (sometime a highly distorted signal will register). Testing voltage gives high readings. 8.9V are coming into the board, but pin readings beginning at first pin are 8.29, 7.79, 6.97, 0, 6.82, 6.92, 7.57, 8.94. I’ve attached a few pics in case anything stands out. Note, the TL072 chip I used does not have the notch I am used to to mark pin orientation, but it does have what I assume is a marker near pin #1. However, I’m not 100% confident I have the chip oriented correctly.

Any suggestions or guidance would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks,
    Colin

Billy

The dot would indicate pin 1 Colin, sometimes it’s either a notch or dot and sometimes both if it’s both you’d go with the notch

Can’t really see the component side pictures they’re really dark with the shadow, we’d need to be able to clearly see all components, resistor colour bands and your offboard wiring so that it can be traced

Your TL072 readings are too high VR going into pin 3 should read half your power supply check what voltage you get at the junction of R17 and 18 the power supply  voltage divider you can use your meters continuity check to see where they join

What are your voltages on the PT2399 pins 1, 2, 3 and 4

Pin 1 should be around 5v with 2 half of pin 1s voltage and 3 and 4 are grounds or 0v