Home Forums GuitarPCB Build Support Adjusting BIAS

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  KeneK 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

KeneK
    Participant

Hello,  I am an intermediate builder and I want to build the ’69 “Stones Drive’ and the ‘Ratt Deluxe’.  Both have a trimmer to adjust the BIAS.

Question 1) The ’69 Stones Drive’ instructions say ,  “…the drain voltage should always be about half of the supply voltage (or 4.5 volts)…”   Please , between which 2 points on the PCB do I measure this voltage?

Question 2) Concerning TR1 in the ‘Ratt Deluxe’ ; if I install the stock R7 resistor (100R) , and the stock TR1 trimmer (100R) , then between which points on the PCB do I measure the voltage? – and is the trimmer then supposed to be adjusted to 4.5 volts between these points?

Question 3) The ‘Ratt Deluxe’ kit comes with a LM308. Are the following 3 chips 100% interchangeable with the LM308?  >  OP07 , NE5534AP , TL081 ?

Thank you very much,  KeneK

wilkie1
    1.  Looking at the schematic you can see that the lug 1 (identified by a dot) of TR1 connects directly to the Drain of Q5.  To measure the voltage, place your red probe on lug 1 and the black probe on any ground point.
    2. On the Ratt, TR1 is not setting bias of a transistor.  It is changing the frequency response of the IC.  There is no need to measure a voltage here.  The instructions tell you that this is part of the Ruetz Mod.
    3. Since you have a LM308 you should use that for best results.  While other opamps may function in this circuit, they all will have some values that vary from the LM308.  You can look up the data sheets for the others and compare the electrical characteristics, but that may just confuse you further.  Or, you can just plug them in and see if they wlll work.  If the pin pattern is the same, they will probably function.  “Your results may vary”.

Cybercow